Sharks, Hawks win gold


THORBURN — Visiting teams won both banners on Sunday to complete minor hockey tournaments at the Ivor MacDonald Memorial Rink.

The Halifax Hawks defeated TASA 5-3 to win the Aaron Blackwood Memorial Peewee B event, while the Sackville Sharks downed the Sackville Bruins 4-1 in the Audrey McDonald Memorial Peewee C Division.

The Thorburn Golden Hawks were entered in the Peewee C Division and won two of their three games in preliminary before being shut out 2-0 by the Sharks in their semifinal game.

Dawson Burns scored as the Hawks opened with a 6-1 loss to the Sackville Bruins.

Burns scored twice as the Hawks blanked the Dartmouth Huskies 4-0. Chase Roberts and Joel McKay also scored.

Burns and Jordan Neil each had a goal and assist in the Hawks’ 2-0 victory over the Dartmouth Sharks.

In other Peewee B Division games, Jarred Langille scored one goal and assisted on the other goal by Brennan Dalton as the Stellarton Royals were edged 3-2 to by the Cole Harbour Red Wings.

Dalton netted three goals in Stellarton’s 5-5 tie with East Hants. Langille and Alex MacBeth also scored.

TASA shut out the Royals 4-0 in their other games.

Jake Henderson, Aidan Tobin and Zachary MacInnis scored in the Trenton Steelers’ 6-3 loss to Dartmouth Gold.

MacInnis and Dawson MacKay scored in Trenton’s 6-2 loss to Halifax.

MacKay scored twice and Caden MacDonald, Henderson, Jack Higdon and MacInnis added a goal apiece in Trenton’s 6-0 victory over the Acadia Axemen.

Two more tournaments will be played this week in Westville: The Keith MacLean Invitational for Bantam C teams and the Bradley Crowther Memorial for Midget C teams.

Thorburn Golden Hawks captain Dawson MacKay controls the puck against the Sackville Sharks during minor hockey tournament action in Thorburn. (Goodwin photo)


Leave a Reply