Westville wins Larade-Gallant event


PICTOU — The Westville Crushers have won the 2019 Adam Larade-Teresa Gallant Memorial hockey tournament.

Chace Campbell, Johnny Leudy, Jacob Munroe, Carson MacDonald and Eli Seymour scored for the Miners as they defeated Trenton 5-3 in the championship game on Sunday at the Hector Arena in Pictou.

Josh Wood scored twice and Brody Fanning once for Trenton.

The teams were tied 1-1 after the first period, but Westville took a 2-1 lead into the third period.

Westville and Trenton defeated teams from Dartmouth in Sunday’s semifinal games after the four teams won their respective pools.

Host Pictou finished second in Pool One after a 4-1 loss to the Dartmouth Sharks. Pictou defeated New Glasgow 5-1 and blanked the Chebucto Lightning 6-0 in its other games.

Stellarton finished second to the Dartmouth Huskies in Pool Two after dropping a 3-1 decision. Stellarton trounced Thorburn 12-1 and outscored Acadia 6-4 in other games.

Trenton defeated Brookfield 4-2 and edged TASA and Eastern Shore by identical 3-2 scores to win Pool Three.

The tournament honours Adam Larade, who died in a motor vehicle crash in 1992, and Teresa Gallant, who was a town councillor in Pictou for nine years.

Gallant was also president of both Pictou Minor Hockey and Pictou Ringette, served on the Hector Arena Commission and the Pictou School Bowlers.

Members of the Westville Miners accepted the banner on the team’s behalf after capturing the 2019 Adam Larade-Teresa Gallant Memorial Atom hockey tournament on Sunday at the Hector Arena in Pictou. Front row from left: alternates Carson MacDonald and Nate MacKenzie, captain Eli Seymour and alternate Owen Jeans. Back row: presenters Larade’s sister Darlene MacLeod and Gallant’s grandsons Jeremy and Seth Gallant. (Goodwin photo)