Chediac, Straub top North Nova athletes


NEW GLASGOW — Rugby was saluted on June 5 during North Nova Education Centre’s 16th annual non-academic awards night.

Matt Chediac was named top male athlete and Victoria Straub was named top female athlete to cap the awards presentations.

Chediac was a major force on the school’s male rugby team, as was Straub on the female rugby team.

Both teams won their regional championship to advance to the provincial championships the previous weekend.

The female rugby team was named the school’s team of the year for reaching the Division I final.

Chediac was named the top back on his rugby team and the baseball team’s most valuable player. He was also the first male recipient of the Braydon Ross Memorial Award. Madison Robertson was the female recipient.

Straub was named the female rugby team’s MVP and also received the coach’s award on the female varsity soccer team.

Hayden Butler and Lauren MacLeod were co-recipients of the Kale Mason Memorial Award.

Major awards also included the Neil MacKinnon True Grit Award presented jointly to Lindsey MacDonald and Layton Williams.

Male athlete Connor Dewar, female athlete Rhea Young and coach Zach Langlois represented the school at the Nova Scotia School Athletic Federation’s annual luncheon.

Maverick Francis received the Gryphon’s Den Leadership Award.

Other awards are as follows:

Baseball: MVP Matt Chediac, top hitter Braydon Killen, top rookie Cameron Young

Cross Country: leadership awards to Allie Sandluck and Ethan MacDonald, rookie of the year Mallory Wilson

Golf awards: Nick Manos, Barrett Bennett

Varsity female soccer: MVP Alicia Thomsen, rookie of the year Jade Reddick, coach’s choice Victoria Straub, leadership award Madeline Schnare

Varsity male soccer: MVP Max van Zyl, rookie of the year Matt MacLeod, leadership award Joe McCarron, coach’s award Angel Povoa Carril

JV female soccer: offensive MVP Jayden Palmer, defensive MVP Sara MacDonald, coach’s award Brooklyn Nicholas

Female hockey: most dedicated player Garin Purvis, rookie of the year Madison Robertson, top leadership player Lindsay MacDonald, most consistent player Rhea Young

Male hockey: MVP Matt Chediac, rookie of the year Ross Martin, top defence Landen MacDonald, coach’s award Nole Chapman

JV female basketball: top defensive player Cailey Russell, top offensive player Karielle Floyd, coaches award Sarah O’Neill

JV male basketball: MVP Kevin Rankin, rookie of the year Broden DeCoff, big heart award Jarrod Francis

Grade 9 female basketball: team MVP Ashley Arbuckle, MVP defence Chelsea Campbell, MVP offence Mattea Miller

Grade 9 male basketball: offensive MVP Jamual Crosby Izzard, defensive MVP Clark Smith, coach’s award Seth MacMaster

Varsity female basketball: MVP Isabella MacKay, rookie of the year Kaitlyn Jota, most improved Jade Butler

Varsity male basketball: MVP Layton Williams, defensive player Brandon Campbell, coach’s award Joe McCarron

Badminton: top female player Quynh (Alex) Nguyen, top male player Angel Povoa Carril, top team Ben O’Neill and Eva Wornell

Ski team: top female Taylor Long, top male Mac MacKinnon

Snowboarding: male rider Marcus MacIvor, female rider Taliah Knight

Varsity Disc: spirit award Shalyn Bona, male MVP Thomas Schnare, female MVP Tori Wittemore

Varsity female volleyball: MVP Janelle Young, hardest worker Kaitlyn Jota, rookie of the year Emily Jatsynovich

Grade 9 female volleyball: best defensive player Haillie Eisan, best offensive award Kailyn Leudy, spirit award Makayla Jota

JV female volleyball: hardest worker Torri Wittemore, calm and consistency award Abby Cameron, playmaker Alyssa MacQuarrie

Table tennis: top senior player Angel Povoa Carril, top intermediate player Jack Noftall

Female rugby: MVP Victoria Straub, top forward Carley MacDonald, top back Eva Wornell, coach’s award Nora Burrows

Male rugby: top forward Ian MacDonald, top rookie forward Matt MacLeod, top back Matt Chediac, top rookie Ben Turnbull

Track and field: senior coach’s awards to Allie Sandluck and Ethan MacDonald, intermediate coach’s awards to Keighan DeCoff, Taylor Long and Lagan Horton

Lacrosse: leadership award Kalen Maloney

From left: Victoria Straub was named top female athlete and Matt Chediac was named top male athlete. (Goodwin photo)