Murray school board’s vice-chairperson


TRURO –Marilyn Murray is the Chignecto-Cetnral School Board’s new vice-chairperson.

Murray, who represents the region’s District 15 that includes Trenton, was elected for the first time to the position last Wednesday during the board’s annual organizational meeting at the school board office.

Her election followed the swearing in of 14 board members elected or acclaimed in conjunction with municipal elections this fall.

Also returning to represent districts in Pictou County are RonMarks by re-election, as well as Anne Beaver and Vivian Farrell by acclamation.

Chief Andrea Paul of Pictou Landing First Nation returns to the First Nation seat on the board.

Trudy Thompson, who has chaired the board since 2005, was returned by acclamation.

District 11 remains vacant, pending a special election that has not yet been scheduled.

Scott Adamson defeated long-time board member Gordon Anderson on Oct. 15 but his election was negated when it was discovered he was teaching, which contravenes the Municipal Government Act.

Adamson has since said he will reoffer, while Anderson so far has not decided.

Murray’s role as vice-chairperson includes chairing committee-of-the-whole meetings. The next one is scheduled for Nov. 9 at 7 p.m. at the school board office.

Leave a Reply