Pictou wins McLellan Cup

Featured Sports

PICTOU — Members of the New Caledonian Curling Club in Pictou successfully challenged for the famed McLellan cup by defeating the visiting Halifax Curling Club last Wednesday in Pictou.

Hugh Campbell, Devin Forbes and Scott Maston were the host club’s skips and they combined to win by a total score of 51-28 in the three games.

Curling began at about 2 p.m. and lasted the customary 14 ends.

Two games ended in draws, with Campbell tying his match 11-11. Forbes tied his match 12-12.

Maston’s team of Andrew Richardson, Dan Currie, Dave Quann and Keith Laidig overwhelmed their Halifax opponents 28-5 while counting six stones in the 12th end and another four in the 14th end.

“We had a decent team and we curled very well,” Richardson said.

Forbes had Frank MacLeod, Dan Currie and Kevin Baillie on his foursome, while Campbell curled with just two teammates — Mike MacKenzie and Dave Steele.

The McLellan Cup is considered the oldest continuously contested trophy in North America. The trophy dates from 1887.

Wednesday’ event was the fourth of the McLellan Cup season for 2017.

It opened on January 25 in Moncton where the host team defeated Bridgewater 36-27.

Moncton left the cup on February 1 in River Hebert, where the host Riverside club successfully challenged for it and won by a margin of 54-25.

Halifax defeated Riverside 44-33 on February 8 before facing Pictou’s challenge.

Pictou is scheduled to send teams to accept the next challenge today in Windsor, N.S.

Members of the New Caledonian Curling Club in Pictou won the McLellan Cup after successfully challenging for it last Wednesday against members of the Halifax Curling Club. Front row, from left: skips Hugh Campbell, Devin Forbes and Scott Maston. Back row: Dave Steele, Frank MacLeod, Andrew Richardson, Kevin Baillie, Mike MacKenzie, Keith Laidig, Dave Quann and Dan Currie. (Goodwin photo)

Leave a Reply