Maripacs Midget A champs


BRIDGEWATER — The Pictou Maripacs are Hockey Nova Scotia Midget A champions.

Rob Tetreault fired four goals and Tyler MacLennan netted his second goal in overtime as the Maripacs captured the division banner last Friday with a 6-5 victory over the Halifax Hawks during the Provincial Day of Champions in Bridgewater.

The Maripacs took a 3-1 lead into the third period but Halifax scored three straight goals to take a 4-3 lead.

After Pictou tied the score, Halifax took a 5-4 lead with 1:31 left in the period. The Maripacs forced overtime with the tying goal with 33 seconds left. MacLennan’s goal came with 1:28 gone in the overtime period. Tim Shea added three assists.

It was the Maripacs’ third straight appearance at the Midget A championship. Their win on Friday capped a 38-game season in which they won 36 games and tied the other two.

The Pictou County Peewee AA Crushers won the Peewee AA title on Saturday during the second day of the Day of Champions in Bridgewater.

The Crushers defeated the Halifax Hawks 5-3 in their game.

Halifax defeated the Trenton Steelers 12-4 in the Peewee B game at the Day of Champions on Saturday.


The Pictou County Subway Selects hosted the provincial Midget AA female hockey championship tournament from Friday through Sunday at the Pictou County Wellness Centre.

The Selects lost three games and tied one and did not advance to the playoff round.

Sarah MacNeil collected a goal and an assist as the Selects tied Cape Breton West 3-3. Shalyn Bona and Chloe MacDonald also scored.

MacDonald, Maddy Robertson and Kenzie Ells scored in the Selects’ 7-3 loss to Metro West.

The Selects were shut out 3-0 by the Antigonish Bulldogs and 4-0 by the Colchester Cyclones.

Metro West edged Cape Breton West 3-2 in the championship game on Sunday.

Metro West Force Blue nipped the Fundy/Highland Selects 1-0 in an Atom AA game during the Female Day of Champions on Sunday in Bridgewater.

The Pictou Maripacs won the Hockey Nova Scotia Midget A banner on Friday at the Day of Champions in Bridgewater. Front row, from left: Burke Murray and Connor Skyrynsky. Middle row: Tyler Watters, Luc Claveau, Jake Murray, Lucas LeBlanc, Day of Champions Midget A Championship Game MVP Rob Tetreault, Logan LeBlanc, Nick MacNeil, assistant captain Tim Shea and coach Jenny Ferguson. Back row: coach Evan Murray, Brett Claveau, Riley Sheehan, captain Spencer Nichol, Lauchie Malcolm, Owen Baird, assistant captain Ethan Scothorn, assistant captain Tyler MacLennan and Justin MacLennan. (Submitted photo)

Leave a Reply