Curling cup stays home


WESTVILLE — Members of the host Westville Curling Club combined to retain the McLellan Cup and defend it elsewhere this season.

Three foursomes outscored members of the Windsor Curling Club last Wednesday by a margin of 48-33 to earn the right to defend the famed cup this week at a curling club to be announced. Failing that, the next host club to contest the cup is the Wolfville Curling Club on January 24.

The McLellan Cup is described as the oldest continuously contested trophy in North American sports. Teams have competed for possession of the cup since 1887.

Windsor opened the season schedule by winning the cup on December 13 by defeating the Glooscap Curling Club of Kentville, but was soundly defeated in Westville.

Two host teams skipped by John Thompson and Johnny Jones each won their 14-end matches by identical scores of 19-7, while the other Westville team skipped by Jason LeBlanc lost 19-10.

LeBlanc’s team consisted of Duncan MacDonald, Bernie Delaney and Gus Fahey.

“It was a close game for a while but they pulled away from us,” LeBlanc said.

Both Jones and Thompson gave credit to the sweeping of their teammates.

Thompson’s team included Ivan Millen, Terry Manning and Mike Yorke, while Jones’ foursome consisted of Don Gordon, Roger Caddell and John MacDonald.

“Our front end curled really well,” Jones said.

The 2017-18 season for the McLellan Cup features 12 dates and includes a challenge for it by the New Caledonian Curling Club of Pictou on February 28.

Host curling clubs challenge for the cup, while defending teams travel to the club’s while they keep winning it or until they relinquish it.

From left: Roger Caddell and John MacDonald sweep a stone during their McLellan Cup curling match on Wednesday in Westville. (Goodwin photo)

Leave a Reply