Saccary wins Ship Hector


STELLARTON — Kevin Saccary has skipped the winning team for the second straight year at the 2018 Ship Hector Curling Bonspiel.

Saccary’s Berwick team defeated Brent MacDougall of the Mayflower Curling Club in Halifax in the championship game at Stellar Curling Club.

Teams must go undefeated to challenge for the Ship Hector Trophy.

Teams with one loss contest the Heritage Trophy.

A team from Sackville, N.B. that included New Glasgow native Krista Nix reached the Heritage final before losing to Mike Howell’s Lakeshore club team at Bluenose Curling Club in New Glasgow, where she once played.

Nix is in the fifth year of a degree at Mount Allison University. All three of her teammates are from New Brunswick and attend Mount Allison.

Nix skipped the first two matches and Sunday’s game, while Sam Moore from Miramichi, N.B. skipped the others.

The team won its first three games before losing Saturday evening. The team reached the Heritage final by defeating the New Caledonian Curling Club team skipped by Scott Maston on Sunday morning in Stellarton.

Maston’s team of Mike Murdoch, Andrew Richardson and Ken Pettipas also won its first three games before losing its next two. Their loss to the Nix team eliminated them from further play.

Other local teams contested consolation honours.

Jason LeBlanc won the battle of Westville Curling Club teams by defeating Johnny Jones’ team to win the Stellar trophy.

Chris Post from CCA defeated Peter Grant’s Bluenose entry to win the Jack Pink trophy.

Kris Terrior of Lakeshore defeated Tanya Phillips from CFB Halifax to win the Gordon Fraser trophy, while Gordie Cormier from Schooner club defeated Doug Campbell from the Highlander club to win the New Caledonian trophy.

Kevin Bennett defeated Charles Debay of Truro to win the Westville trophy, while Trevor Archibald defeated Jeff Morse to win the Bluenose trophy.

Derek Druhan of Halifax Curling Club won the Tartan honours by defeating Rick Middleton, while Coralie Ayre of Sydney club defeated a St. Francis Xavier University team skipped by Joshua Henderson to win the Tweed honours.

It was the first time in years that the Ship Hector event did not feature a 56-team draw

Organizers were hard-pressed to fill a 48-team draw but hope to return the event to 56 teams next year.

Krista Nix, left, helps her teammate sweep a stone during the Ship Curling Bonspiel that took place from Friday through Sunday at the four Pictou County curling clubs. (Goodwin photo)

Leave a Reply