County team peewee lacrosse champs


TRENTON — A Pictou County team is once again a Maritime Box Lacrosse Peewee Division champion.

Pictou County defeated the Truro Bearcats 8-1 in their semifinal match and outscored the Valley Thunder 4-1 to repeat as champs from 2017.

Ryan Chapman picked up three goals, including the game winner, while Marshall Brown had two goals and an assist with Finn Smith grabbing two goals.

Morgan Falconer had the remaining goal and an assist, with Lachlan MacDonald also adding an assist.

Ewan MacPherson held the Bearcats just to the one goal in the first period.

Pictou County faced the regular-season, league-leading Thunder for the League Championship.

The game was tightly played until halfway through the first period when Falconer ran the floor to score the opening goal.

The Thunder tied the game before the first period ended.

The second period was back and forth until the last two minutes of the period when Chapman pocketed his first of the game with assist coming from Falconer. Brown added the insurance goal with assists from Drew Wagner and Ewan MacPherson late in the period.

Early in the third period, Chapman added his second of the game while Pictou County shut the door on the Thunder.

Pictou County once again won a Maritime Box Lacrosse Peewee Division championship. Front row, from left: Ewan MacPherson, Finn Smith, Nolan Fukes, Ryan Chapman, Marshall Brown, Lachlan MacDonald and Drew Wagner. Back Row: coaches Craig Fukes and Jean-Phillippe Tremblay, Morgan Falconer, Rory Cameron and coach Doug MacPherson. (Submitted photo)