Midget AAA Selects honour builders


The Northern AAA Subway Selects won twice at home last weekend defeating the Fundy Nationals in the Nova Scotia Female AAA Midget Hockey League and on Saturday honoured some of their past success.

The 2017-2018 Selects received their provincial and Atlantic championship banners in a pre-game ceremony at the Pictou County Wellness Centre, where the founders and builders of female hockey in Pictou County were celebrated.

Past presidents Johanna Sutton, Bob Perry and Carol Dunn were on hand, along with coaches and builders Cliff Taylor, Jim Sloan, Ron Dunn and Roy MacIntyre. Also in attendance was Greg Burrows on behalf of Subway, the Selects’ chief sponsor.

Many other notables who were unable to attend were given honorable mention and then presented with a commemorative print celebrating the Selects’ unprecedented success of last season in appreciation for their contribution to female hockey in Pictou County.

Following the ceremony, Landyn Pitts recorded a hat trick as the Selects trounced the Nationals 9-1. Alyssa Fitt added a brace, while singles went to KJ Emery, Lindsey Smith, Natalie MacKay and Ashley Livingston.

On Sunday, Fundy bounced back and kept things a little tighter, but it was the Selects who came out on top 7-4 on a four-goal performance by Ella MacLean.

Mariah Linehan added a pair, while Pitts scored a single.

The Selects continue to hang on to first place and will return to action next weekend when they take on the Bussy Auto Penguins at home on Saturday at the Wellness Centre.

They travel to Bedford on Sunday where they will face the second place Station Six Fire for the first time this season.

The Selects lead Station Six Fire by six points with 11 wins and two ties for 24 points but have played three more games.

Pitts is second overall in points and leads the Selects with 13 goals and 15 assists for 28 points in 13 games.

From left: Kelly Reid accepted a photo collage on behalf of her husband and former Selects’ head coach Troy Reid from current Selects member Camryn Halliday and former member Sophia Wornell. (Goodwin photo)