‘Hawks win inaugural hoop tourney


ALMA – The Northumberland Nighthawks varsity men’s basketball team went undefeated last weekend to win its first annual Northumberland New Year’s Basketball Tournament.

The six-team tournament included teams from Cobequid Education Centre, Cabot Education Centre, Avon View High School, Strait Area Education and Recreation Centre, and Glace Bay High School.

The host Nighthawks powered back from a slow start to defeat the CEC Junior Varsity Cougars 95-76 in the opening game of the tournament Saturday.

The Nighthawks won their second game of the day against Cabot with a score of 96-60 to finish first in their pool, setting up a championship game matchup against top pool B finisher, Avon View.

The Nighthawks registered a 96-57 victory over Avon View on Sunday  to capture the title.

Raine DeCoste, Tyler Watters, and Marcus MacLeod were named players of the game during tournament play and Waters, Derrick Cho, and Brayden MacDonald received hustle awards. DeCoste was named Defensive All-Star for the Nighthawks and Glen Cox was tournament MVP.

“I’m very proud of how the boys played today,” said head coach Mark Stinson after the championship game.

Stinson said he hopes to grow the annual tournament and have 12 teams participate next year.

The Nighthawks travel to Windsor next weekend for a tournament hosted by Avon View.

The host Northumberland Nighthawks’ varsity men’s basketball team won their first annual Nighthawks New Year’s Basketball Tournament. Front row, from left: Álvaro Ortega, Lexter Rico, Jonah MacEachern and Brayden MacDonald. Back row: assistant coach Erik Nielsen, head coach Mark Stinson, Glen Cox, Raine DeCoste, Marcus MacLeod, Rhys Stevenson, Tyler Watters, Derrick Cho, and assistant coach Steve MacLeod. (Submitted. photo)