Three county volunteers to receive Senate Medal

Community Featured Online First

PLYMOUTH – Senator Michael L. MacDonald  will be presenting Senate 150 Medals to three long-time community volunteers from Pictou County this Saturday at an event in Plymouth.

Receiving the medal will be Joanne Cumminger of New Glasgow, Anne Emmett of Pictou and Allan Murray of Stellarton.

The Senate of Canada 150 Medal celebrates the 150th anniversary of the first sitting of the Senate, and was created to recognize the outstanding contributions of Canadians from all walks of life, through generosity, dedication, volunteerism and hard work.

In addition to being a long-time community volunteer, Joanne Cumminger, now retired, was a nurse for over 43 years. In her role with the Pictou County Health Authority as a cancer patient navigator, her dedicated work provided valuable education and support to cancer patients and their families. She remains active for several causes, including three support groups for patients with prostate, breast and brain cancer.

Anne Emmett has been dedicated to promoting community interests in Pictou since she and husband, Mike Emmett, moved to the area and bought the Braeside Inn in 1993. She has served with numerous community organizations, including as chair of the Business and Marketing Society for Pictou, the Hector Quay Society, the Pictou Lobster Carnival, and BIDC Pictou. Among many other commitments Anne has made to the community, she has also served as a board member with the Pictou County Chamber of Commerce, the Ship Hector Foundation and is a founding member and chair of Clean Pictou Air.

Allan Murray  is an active volunteer in Pictou County. He serves as treasurer of the First Presbyterian Church in Stellarton, the Stellarton Homecoming Committee and the Aberdeen Hospital Auxiliary, as well as over 21 years as a tax volunteer for the Community Volunteer Income Tax Program, organizing tax clinics for seniors. He is also active with the Warm Hearts Refugee Group.

Senator MacDonald will be joined at the presentation by local Members of the Legislative Assembly Pat Dunn (Pictou Centre), Tim Houston (Pictou East), and Karla MacFarlane (Pictou West).

The medal presentation will be held at 3 p.m. Saturday at the Plymouth Fire Hall (4667 East River East Side Rd). The event is open to the media and members of the public.