Yarmouth teams stick curling winners


NEW GLASGOW — Two Yarmouth teams have won their respective divisions in Harding Medical Nova Scotia Stick Curling Championships.

The Yarmouth tandem of Pauline Bullerwell and Diane Mallinson was tops among 10 women’s teams that included the pairing of Kathy Walker and Jane Marshall from the host Bluenose Curling Club.

Paul Doucet and Dave MacDougal from Yarmouth combined to win the Open Division.

Next year’s venue has not been determined but the event could wind up in Yarmouth.

Two of the Bluenose Open Division teams reached the semifinal before being eliminated within 30 seconds of each other: Haylett Clarke and Allison Munro were on one team and John Marshall and Lowell Jenkins on the other.

Clarke and Marshall co-chaired the host committee.

“Everything went well,” Marshall said. “It was an excellent weekend and the ice was terrific.”

Clarke noted how curling with a stick has prolonged participation for many people and has introduced an extra skill element to the game.

“The competition is definitely there,” he said. “It’s just as much fun and it keeps people curling.”

Hubert Sullivan, 93, from the Wolfville Curling Club supplied the curling hardware for the event and was among those attending the weekend curling.

“They wanted to have stick curling so I put up the trophy,” said Sullivan, who has been curling for 64 years.

From left: Women’s winners Pauline Bullerwell and Diane Mallinson and open champions Paul Doucet and Dave MacDougal hold their awards. (Goodwin photo)