PA grads celebrate successes

Community Featured

It was a bittersweet evening for the 2019 graduates of Pictou Academy last week as they bid their school farewell and became ready to start the next chapter of their life.

The weather may not have been sunny and bright but the mood of the graduates was cheery none the less. This year, the graduates and award winners earned $306,550 in scholarships and prizes. They include

Town of Pictou Gold Medal — Erica Cherry

Silver Medalist — Spencer Suirane-Chapman

Queen Elizabeth II Medal — Erica Cherry

Governor General Medal — Oscar Mulati

Tupper Gold Medal — Kaelan Daley

Ian Wisener Memorial Trophy (Athletics, Leadership and Scholarship) — Jenna Reid

PAEF Awards :

Scammell Bursaries (two at $12,000 to attend university) — Erica Cherry and Kari Waller

Scammell Bursaries (two at $3,000 to attend university) — Ross MacLeod and Megan MacCarthy

MacDonald Bursaries (two at $1,300) — Ethan Hill and Bianca Bourgeois

Chester and Barb Roach Memorial Scholarships ($2,000 renewable for up to three years): Patrick Minehan

Ethel A. Harris Scholarship: Erica Cherry

Maude Sutherland Bursary: Kaelan Daley

Kevin Gillis Memorial Award: Eric Fraser

David George Johnson Memorial Award: Spencer Suirane Chapman

Miss Mary MacKay: Erica Cherry

Donald Blenkhorn Bursary: Jenna Reid

Patterson Bursary: Spencer Suirane Chapman

Gordon Bursary: Oscar Mulati

Frank I. Huelin Scholarship: Oscar Mulati

Claude J.W. Kedy Award: Kari Waller

William H. Harris Bursary: Riley Redmond

McLure Bursary: Jenna Reid

Robert and Catherine Ross Memorial Bursary: Oscar Mulati

Rev. A.A. Smith Scholarship: Ethan Hill

W.T. Ferguson Bursary: Kaelan Daley

MacKenzie Bursary: Kaelan Daley

C.B. Robinson Prize: Kaelan Daley

Crerar MacDonald Bursary: Oscar Mulati

Dr. Mary MacKenzie Smith Scholarship: Emily McCallum and Erica Cherry

Fisher Bursaries: Kaelan Daley and Oscar Mulati

Heighton Memorial Bursary: Kaelan Daley

E.M. MacDonald Award: Spencer Suirane Chapman

Clarence Wong Memorial Bursary: Oscar Mulati

Mary Osmond Memorial Bursary: Carly Smith

Robert Kennedy Memorial Bursary: Kaelan Daley

Purves Loagie Bursary: Spencer Suirane Chapman

The Wyatt MacPhail Memorial Bursary: Oscar Mulati

The Stephen Russell Memorial Prize: Oscar Mulati

PA 200 Bursary: Spencer Suirane Chapman

PAEF Achievement Awards: Riley Richard, Jason Wilson, Sebastian Davis and Kirkland Mansour.

Edna Sproull Williams Awards for Subjects:

Highest Standing Girl in English 12: Kaelan Daley. Highest Physics 12: Oscar Mulati. Highest Standing Boy in HGS 12: Oscar Mulati. Highest in Math 12: Spencer Suirane Chapman. Highest in GGS 12: Kenzie Ells and Damien Oulton. Highest Calculus 12: Oscar Mulati. Highest Health & Human Services 12: Biancia Bourgeois. Second Highest in Biology 12: Patrick Minehan. Second Highest in French 12: Emily McCallum. Second Highest in Math 12: Kari Waller. Second Highest in PreCalculus Math 12: Kaelan Daley. Second Highest in Chemistry 12: Oscar Mulati. Second Highest in Physics 12: Erica Cherry. Second Highest in Calculus 12: Erica Cherry. Second Highest Health & Human Services 12: Carly Smith.

Community Organization Prizes:

New Caledonia Lodge #11 — Freemasons Bursaries: Emily McCallum and Spencer Suirane Chapman. Shiretown Dental Bursaries: Erica Cherry and Ethan Hill. The Rotary Club of Pictou Award: Biancia Bourgeois. Pictou Academy Alumni Staff Bursary: Mackenzie Ells. MacIntosh, MacDonnell and MacDonald Scholarship: Jenna Reid. Canadian Legion Branch 16 Scholarship: Dylan Rafuse. Monarchist League of Canada-Northumberland Branch: Damien Oulton. Grant Thornton Accountants Prize: Kari Waller. Pictou Lions Club Centennial Awards: Kari Waller and Dylan Rafuse. Caribou Womens Institute Award: Ross MacLeod. Princess Rebekah Lodge #4 Award: Charlotte Musick. Nova Scotia Teachers Union Bursary: Erica Cherry. Donald P MacInnis Bursary: Jenna Reid. Grohmann Knives Ltd Award: Eric Fraser. Sutherland Harris Memorial Hospital Foundation Health and Wellness Scholarships: Erica Cherry, Kaelan Daley, Ethan Hill, Kyra Langille and Ross MacLeod. United Commercial Travellers Pictonian Council #879 Bursary: Biancia Bourgeois. No More Westrays Bursary: Justin Mansour Gillis. Pictou Garden Club Prize: Emily MacCallum. Grohmann, Sachs and Babinec Family Bursary: Emily MacCallum. Murphy-Ryan Bursary: Damien Oulton. Pictou County Heart & Stroke Foundation Bursary: Kaelan Daley. CUPW Local 099: Justin Mansour Gillis and Oscar Mulati. United Church Pictou Jean Dickson Bursary: Kari Waller, Ethan Hill and Charlotte Musick. United Church Pictou Dodson Family Bursary: Ross MacLeod. Gladys and Clarence Porter Memorial Bursary: Biancia Bourgeois. Pictou West Liberal Association: Ryan Dunbrack. The New Glasgow Kinette Bursary: Jenna Reid. Eastern Star Lodge Bursary: Megan MacCarthy. The New Glasgow Police Union Local 103: Jenna Reid. Mahar Memorial Scholarship: Dylan Rafuse. The Aberdeen Local Nova Scotia Nursing Union Bursary: Ross MacLeod. Porter Memorial Bursary: Erica Cherry. Municipality of Pictou County: Patrick Minehan. Ceilidh Honda Bursary: Kyra Langille. King Freight Lines Bursary: Owen Baird

Other Scholarships:

Ross MacLeod — Nova Scotia Teachers Union $400.

Oscar Mulati — Pengrowth-Nova Scotia Energy — $10,000 over four years.

Erica Cherry — Dalhousie University $17,500 over four years.

Jenna Reid — Wofford College — $200,000 over four years.

From left, Pictou Mayor Jim Ryan, Spencer Suirane Chapman, Oscar Mulati, Principal Blair MacDonald, Erica Cherry, Kaelan Daley, Pictou West MLA Karla MacFarlane and Jenna Reid. (Brimicombe photo)

From left, Megan MacCarthy, Erica Cherry, Kari Waller, Helen Scammell, donor of the Scammell Bursaries, Biancia Bourgeois, Ross MacLeod and Ethan Hill. (Brimicombe photo)
From left, Oscar Mulati, guest speaker Bill MacDonald, Luke Young of the Pictou Academy Educational Fund, Patrick Minehan and Ethan Hill. (Brimicombe photo)
Biancia Bourgeois, right, adjusts Owen Baird’s graduation cap just before the pair lead their class into the auditorium.
(Brimicombe photo)
Retiring teacher Jim Sloan high fives students as they get ready to graduate at the deCoste Performing Arts Centre.
(Brimicombe photo)
Grads line up to enter the deCoste auditorium for graduation last week. (Brimicombe photo)

Pictou Academy Grads 2019

Owen Baird

 Biancia Bourgeois

 Erica Cherry

 Kaelan Daley

 Sebastian Davis

 Ryan Dunbrack

 MacKenzie Ells

  Eric Fraser

  Ethan Hill

 Kyra Langille

Megan MacCarthy

Gage MacKenzie

Ross MacLeod

 Kirkland Mansour

  Justin Mansour-Gillis

  Emily McCallum

  Patrick Minehan

 Oscar Mulati

Charlotte Musick

Damien Oulton

 Dylan Rafuse

Riley Redmond

  Jenna Reid

 Riley Richard

  Carly Smith

  Spencer Suirane-Chapman

  Kari Waller  Jason Wilson