85th Lobster Carnival wows crowds, organizers

Community Featured

PICTOU – Shawn McNamara was one happy guy on Sunday as the Pictou Lobster Carnival was winding down for another year.

“Fantastic!” the Carnival committee chairman exclaimed as he talked about the crowds, the program and the good weather that graced the event.

“The only thing we can’t control is the weather, and we got it,” he said.

McNamara said he was amazed at the attendance for the entertainment, especially how it held up on Friday when it was announced that local favourite Matt Minglewood was not available and was replaced by Charlie A’Court.

“The only time we did better on Saturday was two years ago when we had Sam Moon and Matt Minglewood,” he said. “The extra work we put into the lineup, that’s the seed to success.”

The antique car show and shine on Sunday also exceeded expectations, with more than 200 entries along Pictou Harbour. The previous high was 184.

McNamara also praised the support from sponsors and volunteers.

The 2020 carnival dates are July 10, 11 and 12.

2019 Pictou Lobster Carnival Winners

Summer Prize Package – Glenna Ripley

50/50 – Diane Greencorn

Paint the Town Red – The Advocate (George Street)


Adult Category (12 lobsters):

1st – Sam Elliott – 0:59

2nd – Hal Maybe – 1:02

3rd – Dana Johnson – 1:04

Children’s Category (6 lobsters):

1st – Dawson MacAulay – 0:39

2nd – Aaron MacLean – 0:58

3rd – Chad Smith – 1:02


1st – Stanley Reid, 10.47 lbs

2nd – Mike and Brian Noel , 9.078 lbs

3rd – Edwin Shaw, 8.98 lbs

Derby Races – Devon Pye


Waggiest Tail – Tukka (Cecily Orran)

Best Kisser – Elliott (Tucker MacMillan)

Best Costume – Sandy (Enja George)

Longest Tail – Oakley (Isaac Fraser)

Shortest Tail – Elliott (Mallory MacMillan)

Best Trick – Georgie (Nolan Orran)


500HP and Over:

1st – Karen Ann (Kenneth Bugden)

2nd – Parting Waters (Daryl Bourgeois)

3rd – Bulletproof (Steven Creed)

500HP and Under:

1st – Bring it On II (Brady Creed)

2nd – Dizzy Spell (Al Hemphill)

3rd – Night Rider (Craig MacIsaac)


1st – Karen Ann (Kenneth Bugden)

2nd – Dizzy Spell (Al Hemphill)

3rd – Parting Waters (Daryl Bourgeois)


1st – Brenton crew 1 (Edwin Shaw)

2nd – Nor’Wester (Nick Vink)

3rd – Brenton crew 2 (Edwin Shaw)


Best Band – Heatherbells

Best Commercial float – Sobeys

Best Overall float – Proudfoots Home Hardware

Best Non-Commercial float – Pictou and Area Garden Club

Best Automobile Entry – Shriner’s Club

Best Other Entry – Eric and Calvin Anderson

Most Humorous – Nova Scotia Crime Stoppers