Top 4-H’ers get awards during National 4-H Month

Community Featured

RIVERTON – More than 150 people attended the annual Celebrating Pictou County 4-H awards event on November 7 at the Dr. W.A. MacLeod School.

Leadership awards were among those presented to long-serving club leaders.

Mike Hollis and his wife Nancy Hollis received 35-year certificates, while Brenda Sharpe and Kaye Sharpe received 25-year certificates.

Cathy MacPherson was cited for 15 years’ service, while 10-year certificate recipients were Wendy Sutherland and Christy Fraser.

Pictou County 4-H recording secretary Betty Lou Scott made a special appreciation awards presentation to Dan MacDougall.

Top member and club awards presentations followed, with Hopewell named top 4-H club and Salt Springs named top community minded club.

Alesha Dennis was named top overall senior 4-H club member. She also received the Ralph Downey Memorial award and was named top senior livestock member.

Chloe MacGregor was named top overall junior club member, while Bella Livingstone was named rookie of the year.

Madison Baillie received the Danny Lakenman Award, while Sara Henderson was presented with the Jack Adamson Jersey Award and Tyler MacLean received the Jack Gammon Memorial Award.

Five other awards were presented in junior and senior categories.

Sarah Hodgson was top junior and Josh MacIntosh was top senior homemaking member, while Kale Tibbel was named top junior and Ryan Nelson top senior non-livestock life skills member.

Tibbel was the junior recipient and Elizabeth Heighton was the senior recipient of the McInnes 4-H Spirit Award.

Haley Cody was junior winner of the livestock award and the Manning horsemanship award, while Megan MacCarthy was the senior Manning winner.

Top membership and club awards were among those presented at the local 4-H club awards presentations. Front row, from left: Haley Cody, Bella Livingstone and Kale Tibbel. Middle row: Sara Henderson, Madison Baillie, Elizabeth Heighton and Chloe MacGregor. Back row: Ryan Nelson, Alesha Dennis, Josh MacIntosh, Megan MacCarthy and Sarah Hodgson. (Goodwin photo)

Leadership awards were presented in conjunction with the annual 4-H awards event. Front row, from left: Nancy Hollis, Mike Hollis, Brenda Sharpe and Kaye Sharpe. Back row: Aleeta Cowan, Christy Fraser, Meaghan Williams and Sandra Smith.
(Goodwin photo)