Ship Hector curling bonspiel has its moments


PICTOU — To call it a whirlwind weekend for the Ship Hector Curling Bonspiel would be an understatement, giving the curling and the elements that interceded.

A total of 50 teams contested the 48th annual event at the four Pictou County Clubs that included the Ship Hector Trophy claimed by the CFB Halifax foursome skipped for the second straight year by Blair Pettipas at the New Caledonian Curling Club.

“Things went well,” said Scott Maston, who helped organize the draw for the event. “The power failure made things a bit of a challenge, but we had enough ice sheets to compensate so it worked out well. We’ll have a few familiar teams and new teams for our 49th year.”

Maston was referring to the power failure that affected parts of Pictou and that included the New Caledonian club. It forced some games to be played on spare ice surfaces at the other clubs.

The organizers were looking at an increased registration with 52 teams signed up this year compared to 40 the previous year. However, two teams did not arrive due to Friday’s inclement weather. That helped accommodate the alternate sites for the displaced matches.

The Ship Hector award was among 10 contested at the bonspiel. Mike Murdock’s New Caledonian team won the New Caledonian trophy in Pictou on Sunday in an extra end.

Mike Powell’s Lakeshore team defeated the Ivan Millen-skipped team from Westville Curling Club to win the Tartan final.

At the Bluenose Curling Club, Mike Graves’ Wolfville Curling Club team defeated Maston’s team from Pictou to win the Bluenose trophy, while Paul Landry’s Lakeshore Club team defeated the Cliff Taylor foursome from Pictou to win the Gordon Fraser final.

Elsewhere, Derrick Hardy’s Dartmouth team defeated Don English’s Pictou team to win the Westville trophy and Tanya Phillips won the Stellar trophy by defeating the Roddy MacIntosh team from Highlander Curling Club.

Shawn Rhyno’s team won the Heritage final, while Jonathan Turnbull’s Bluenose team won the Jack Pink final and Mike Butler skipped the Highlander foursome to the Tweed honours.

From left: lead Ryan Williams, second Andrew Robertson, mate Kenny Pettipas and skip Mike Murdock hold the New Caledonian trophy with presenter Vicki Campbell. (Goodwin photo)